Abigail Cahill O'Brien

Discovery: Vintage Ephemera Boutique on Etsy

In Feathering the Nest on June 2, 2010 at 10:55 am

1963 Butterfly Lithograph, $7.75

In real life and at close range, butterflies, moths and birds fluster me.  I end up flapping my arms and squawking, as if to say, “Obviously I’m one of you!  Leave me alone!”

Did you see that Modern Family where a pidgeon holds Mitchell and his baby hostage?  That’s my nightmare, possibly traceable to a middle-school rooster attack in a three-sided courtyard (cobblestone makes for uneven footing in rooster altercations). And let’s not get into the Wild Turkey Incident of 2009, during which my sister and I charged the lawn with a couple of brooms and war whoops.

Vintage prints offer all the beauty, minus the spaz.

I recently stumbled on Blasts from the Past, which carries vintage lithographs, prints and book plates of everything from maps to botanicals to anatomical illustrations.

It’s worth digging through the 400 odd items, broken down helpfully into subject matter categories, to see what resonates with you.  With a DIY framing, these could add a lot of personality and color for very little cash.

Here are some of my favorites.

1945 French Lithograph, $15.75

1936 Pharmacy Lithograph, $8.25

1933 French Solar System Print, $12.75

1945 French Lithograph, $15.75 for a pair

1950’s John James Audubon Bird Print, $5.75

Leave a Reply

