Abigail Cahill O'Brien

Cleaning-Out-the-Fridge Salad: Watercress & Prosciutto

In Food on May 12, 2010 at 5:30 am

While grocery shopping I daydreamed a scenario in which I was stranded on a desert island with only one type of food: prosciutto.  I can’t seem to get enough this season.  This explains why a) my shopping trips stretch close to the hour mark and b) I’m often left with a few strips of prosciutto begging to be put to good use.

Last week my husband brought me delicious prosciutto di San Daniele from Staten Island, and a few strips was exactly what I had left by Monday noon.  I briefly considered gobbling them solo, but that would’ve still left the problem of lunch to solve.

Tossing the prosciutto with watercress, Boston lettuce, toasted walnuts, celery, grapes and goat cheese and a simple vinaigrette yielded a satisfying meal.

Yes, I still love grapes and goat cheese in my salads and I’m aware it’s no longer 1992.  If you’re ever inspired to make me a chicken salad with plenty of halved grapes, I will throw a scrunchie in my hair, crank up the En Vogue and give you an awkwardly long hug.

Hold the dill, though, please.

Leave a Reply

