Abigail Cahill O'Brien

Bell Jar Lamps: What to Put in Them?

In Feathering the Nest on May 10, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Two bell jar lamps from West Elm finally arrived and look very happy on my sideboard.

Now the question is, what to display in them?

Whatever it is needs to look good from all sides since my desk has a rear view, which rules out the Big Ben clock featured above.

A small, flowering plant would be nice but my track record with terrarium scenarios is not stellar.  More than a few met their steamy demise on the mantle over Christmas.

West Elm shows the lamp housing coral and bird nests.  I’m not drawn to coral, but love the idea of a sculptural element.  Right now the whole arrangement is crying out for simplification.  I have a feeling when I find the right treasures for inside the lamps,  I’ll be less tempted to cram a bunch of other stuff around them.

Two über-twisty pieces of driftwood might do the trick.  I’m off to beach comb.  Any other ideas, fearless readers?

  1. Spotted a gorgeous nautical one this afternoon at Anthropologie! Not on the website yet though, sorry to disappoint 😦

  2. […] these lamps and how I was stumped on what to put in […]

Leave a Reply

