Abigail Cahill O'Brien

Is Brass Having a Moment?

In Feathering the Nest on April 29, 2010 at 5:05 pm

I love the look of silver.  Whether plated, solid, or mercury glass, silver has a permanent place in our home.  Case in point, Christmas decorations.  The living room looked like a cross between Paul Revere’s silversmith shop and an elf disco.

Lately, though, I gotta say, I’ve been flirting with brass.

It all began with our den.  My husband wanted a library feel, which called for brass and wood accents.

While hunting for brass I fell in love with the coat rack above.  Ahem, technically it’s called a costumer.   For now it’s brightening up an otherwise spartan guest room.  A friend said it reminded her of Fred Astaire: slender, dapper, and doesn’t it look up for a spin?

So the brass has reached the second floor, and will likely continue its charming infiltration.  What do you think?  Are we in the midst of a larger brass resurgence?

If you’re hankering for a hunk of brass, Katie Armour’s shop always has a cheeky selection, often of the animal persuasion. And her blog, The Neo-Traditionalist, is divine.

While mulling it over, take a peek at our den accessories below.  Click the pictures to link to etsy vendors.

P.S. As usual, since I can’t pick a paint color to save my life, I’m partnering with Amy Meier on the den decor. Stay tuned for a full den reveal this summer.

Brass propeller from luckylittledot on etsy

Fisher Scientific sieves from gardner3863 on etsy

Sailboat statue from katiearmour on etsy

Giant paper clip paperweights from TheCollectorsCloset on etsy

Antique stencil from kelleystreetvintage on etsy

Miniature diving helmet from skyparlor on etsy

  1. Thanks so much for the mention! I think it’s having more than a moment though—I never want to part with most the brass I find ; ) It’s such sweet sorrow when it sells, but I know it goes to happy homes!

    XX katie

  2. […] all the brass accessories I dug for on Etsy?  They live here now.  Amy wisely tempered them with a dose of handsome […]

Leave a Reply

