Abigail Cahill O'Brien

Reinventing Your Jewelry: Statement Necklace Edition

In Fashion on December 14, 2009 at 11:55 pm

These days, even buying costume jewelry can feel lurid.

For me, it’s typically a cheap impulse buy without the thought (or quality) behind it of a true wardrobe workhorse.  And right now I’m not buying much that doesn’t fall into the workhorse category.

In search of a novel party necklace, I started layering on several vintage rhinestone pieces already in my closet.  Now, I’ve tried this before.  It’s never quite worked. Instead of hitting the intriguingly messy target, it often veers into just plain muddled.

But this time I began clipping on earrings and voila!  Much closer to the chunky disarray I had in mind.

It’s not perfect – for one thing I forgot about an oversized brooch that would’ve created an asymmetrical swag – but I’m going to keep tinkering with it.  There’s something there.

Leave a Reply

