Abigail Cahill O'Brien

Target’s Engineer Boots: What Say Ye?

In Fashion on November 5, 2009 at 3:13 pm
target

Mossimo's Engineer Boots in Black at Target, $49.99

Target has made a convincing knock-off of Frye’s Harness Boot at a much comfier price point.  $49.99 to be exact. The blogosphere is abuzz with rave reviews.

I tried them on yesterday.  They run a tad small; I take 8 1/2 to 9 usually and definitely needed the 9.  If I were buying them I’d buy two sizes to ensure fit (and qualify for free shipping), and then return one to the store.  For this price point, the quality of the leather and construction were impressive.

If I weren’t headed to Argentina, Land of Leather, I might be tempted.

My two cents: the black is much chic-er.  It has a motorcycle feel whereas the brown plus the squarish toe veers too close to country kitsch.  By that I mean cowboy kitsch, not horsey kitsch, which you already know I love.

What do you think?

  1. too motorcycle for me, although I know it is tre chic… they look leathery and authentic! Go target!

  2. I got the brown pair and am extremely anti-country kitsch. The black are cute, but a little too tough looking for me.

Leave a Reply

